Pop Songs: Anishinaabeíamaadeg Volume 1 (Pop Songs Sung in the Ojibwe Language) - Diiva Miinwaa Davis
sscd 4537

  • Sale
  • $7.98
  • Regular price $19.98

What began as a dream of a teacher and a student as a way to learn the Ojibwe language was recognized as great entertainment for fluent speakers as well. Helen's mastery of the language's form and nuances is evident in the lyrics and prompted a friend to call her the 'Diva of language'. Through her understanding and use of the language, dialectal differences disappear. Helen skillfully sings the words of her heritage language very articulately so that new learners hear every sound and translates accordingly so grammatical forms are heard correctly. David's love of all types of music is evident in the way he orchestrates many instruments into their songs. Guitar, bass, banjo, mandolin, drums and keyboard are the tools of his trade.
CD lineup 

1. Hey Good Lookin
2. Kawliga
3. Cold, Cold Heart
4. Rythm of The Rain 
5. Straight From The Heart 
6. Tell Laura I Love Her
7. Sea of Love 
8. These Boots Are Made For Walkin'
9. Bad Moon Rising
10. Could I Have This Dance
11. I Am A Student
12. I Can See Clearly Now